AIS banner

Media awards entries deadline closing in

Ron Reed
Ron Reed received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.

08 Sep 2014

Journalist, broadcasters and photographers are reminded that entries for the 2014 Australian Sports Commission (ASC) Media Awards close on Friday.

ASC CEO Simon Hollingsworth encouraged all members of the sports media to submit their best work by the nominations deadline of 5pm this Friday, September 12, for the only dedicated sports media honours in Australia.

“The awards are a fitting way for the ASC to help maintain the high standard of sports journalism, broadcasting and photography in Australia by recognising outstanding work in multiple categories,” he said.

This year’s categories are:

  1. Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism
  2. Best reporting of an issue in sport
  3. Best coverage of sport by an individual — television
  4. Best coverage of sport by an individual — print media
  5. Best coverage of sport by an individual — radio
  6. Best coverage of a sporting event by a media organisation
  7. Best promotion of sport for people with disability
  8. Best promotion of women in sport
  9. Best profiling of an athlete, team or coach — broadcast media
  10. Best profiling of an athlete, team or coach — print media
  11. Best sports journalism from rural, regional or suburban media
  12. Best sports photography
  13. Best depiction of the value of sport to Australians in a community setting
  14. Best contribution to sport through digital media
  15. Best analysis of the business of sport

Award finalists will be notified by Tuesday October 7. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner at Dockside, in Sydney, on Wednesday 19 November.

For more information and to enter or contact Kyira Cox on 0429 328 207

Follow us

follow us on facebook follow us on youtube follow us on twitter follow us on instagram