AIS banner

Rabbitohs, Fearnley, Fox win top ASPAS

Jessica Fox
ASPAS Athlete of the Year Jessica Fox.

11 Feb 2015

Thousands of Australian sports fans have voted for the South Sydney Rabbitohs (Sport Performance of the Year) and Kurt Fearnley (Sport Personality of the Year) in the inaugural AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs).

Canoeist Jess Fox was chosen by a panel of judges as the 2014 Athlete of the Year after creating history in becoming the first canoe slalom athlete to win the world championship in two classes.

Speaking from the Melbourne Museum as part of a gala awards function, AIS Director Matt Favier said he was excited that all Australians could now have a say in recognising our best sport performances and personalities.

“The ASPAs aim to recognise our leading athletes, teams and coaches. They reward performance but also reflect the important values that underpin Australian sport,” Favier said.

“The public vote demonstrates that South Sydney winning the NRL premiership after a 43-year drought and being excluded from the competition in 2000 and 2001 is one of our great sporting stories.

“Kurt Fearnley is a deserving winner of the Sport Personality of the Year. His strength of performance and personal character epitomises all that we respect in our sports people.

“Kurt has displayed courage and determination throughout his athletic career capping 2014 winning his fifth New York Marathon in the men’s wheelchair event — his third race in eight weeks after winning in Sydney and placing second in Chicago.

“Athlete of the Year Jess Fox has brought a dynamic presence and profile to her sport. She created history winning dual world championships in 2014 and has emerged as a respected mentor and leader for young athletes across a range of sports.”

“Congratulations to all our winners tonight. It is very important that we publicly acknowledge the hard work and achievements of people involved in Australian performance sport.”  

AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAS) winners list

• South Sydney Rabbitohs (2XU Sport Performance of the Year) – Public vote
• Kurt Fearnley (Rexona Sport Personality of the Year) – Public Vote
• Jess Fox (Berlei Athlete of the Year)
• Lisa Alexander (Melbourne Business School Coach of the Year)
• Amy Cure (Nestle Junior Athlete of the Year)
• Australian Men’s Hockey Team (Gatorade Team of the Year)
• Australian Para Rugby Team (Dairy Australia Para Performance of the Year)
• Damien Marangon and Kate Palmer – joint winners (Melbourne Business School Leadership Award)
• Wynyard Yacht Club (Elastoplast and Club Warehouse Community Club Award)
• Bridie Galea (United Pacific Industries Volunteer/Administrator Award) 

Follow us

follow us on facebook follow us on youtube follow us on twitter follow us on instagram