AIS banner

Camplin-Warner appointed Deputy Chair of Australian Sports Commission

Alisa Camplin-Warner

27 Jun 2017

Minister for Sport Greg Hunt MP has announced the appointment of Alisa Camplin-Warner OAM as Deputy Chair of the Australian Sports Commission (ASC) board.

"Ms Camplin-Warner has been an outstanding contributor to Australian sport," Minister Hunt said. "She is a world champion athlete who has continued to demonstrate her dedication and passion for the future of sport at all levels.

"She has served as a director on the ASC Board since 2007. She remains committed to helping shape the direction of Australian sport at an exciting time when the ASC will be a key contributor to the development of a National Sports Plan."

Ms Camplin-Warner said: "Sport has the power to enrich our communities and should play a fundamental role in the lives of all Australians.

"I am committed to promoting health prevention through sport participation, and helping Australia’s athletes, coaches and the sport sector achieve long-term, sustainable success.

"I’m honoured to be Deputy Chair and welcome the responsibility to help lead the Australian Sports Commission as part of a strong and collegiate board."

The ASC board, led by Chair John Wylie AM, is responsible for the performance of the Commission, which coordinates the Australian Government’s contribution to the sports sector from grassroots through to high performance.

Mr Wylie said: "Alisa is an outstanding contributor to the ASC Board and I look forward to working with her in this new role. This is a great appointment."

Ms Camplin-Warner represented Australia as an athlete at two Winter Olympic Games, winning Australia’s second gold medal of all time, in the aerial skiing at Salt Lake in 2002, and claiming bronze at Turin 2006.

Beyond her own athletic career, Ms Camplin-Warner has served in many sporting administrative roles. She is a non-executive director of the Collingwood Football Club and the Olympic Winter Institute of Australia. She was previously chair of the Australian Sports Foundation from 2009-2014. She is Deputy Chef de Mission of Australia’s team for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in PyeongChang, South Korea.

Follow us

follow us on facebook follow us on youtube follow us on twitter follow us on instagram